To sign into Healthcarology, you can create your own credentials or sign-in credentials from other partner providers. If you close your Healthcarology account or lose your account credentials, you may not be able to access your data. You may use more than one credential with Healthcarology to help ensure continued access. Before using non-Healthcarology credentials with Healthcarology, we recommend you review the security and privacy commitments offered by the issuer.
To create a new Healthcarology account, you must provide personal data such as name, date of birth, e-mail address, postal code and country/region. Depending on the features you use, you may be asked for additional information. A Healthcarology account allows you to manage one or more health records, such as the ones you have created for yourself and your family members. You can add, edit or remove data on your health record at any time.
In the U.S., Healthcarology assigns each health record an email address. When a message is received at that email address, the message and attachments are automatically added to the Healthcarology record, and a notification email is sent to the custodians of that record. The email service in Healthcarology uses "Direct," a protocol designed specifically to communicate with health care providers. For that reason, Healthcarology email can only be sent and received with providers that use a system that's set up to do that. Custodians can add or disable record email addresses.
A key value of Healthcarology is the ability you have to share your health data with people and services that can help you meet your health-related goals. By default, you are the custodian of any records you create. Custodians have the highest level of access to a health record. As a custodian, you can share data in a health record with another person by sending an e-mail invitation through Healthcarology. You can specify what type of access they have (including custodian access), how long they have access, and whether they can modify the data in the record. When you grant someone access, that person can grant the same level of access to services (for example, someone with view-only access can grant a service view-only access). Because inappropriate granting of access could allow someone to violate your privacy. You should be cautious about granting access to your records.
You can choose to share specific data (or all of the data) in a health record with other services. No service has access to your data through Healthcarology unless an authorized user grants it access through Healthcarology. Healthcarology allows you to control access by accepting or denying requests. For each service granted access, you choose what health information in a specific health record you want to share and what actions each service may perform on your health information.
service you authorize for a record access will get the full name associated with your Healthcarology account, the nickname of the authorized record(s), and your relationship to that record. If the service would like the email address created by Healthcarology for the specific record, the service may request this when you grant them access to the record. The service will continue to have access through Healthcarology until you revoke the permission. Healthcarology can revoke a service's access to Healthcarology if it does not meet its privacy commitments to Healthcarology. However, except for restricting the access they have to your Healthcarology data, we do not control or monitor those services, and their privacy practices will vary.
In the United States, we enable participating providers to obtain reports about whether the information they send to a record is used. This feature supports the "meaningful use" objective of the HITECH Act, which provides incentives for health care providers to send their patients copies of their medical information electronically. Providers that participate can get reports that include a number the provider uses to identify the patient within its system, and whether the user took one of the "qualifying actions" in Healthcarology (but no information about which action). "Qualifying action" currently includes activities such as viewing, downloading, or transmitting health information via email. You can turn off reporting for your records.
You can review, edit or delete your Healthcarology account data, or close your Healthcarology account at any time. Only custodians can permanently delete an item. When you delete a heath record, it is deleted from all users who had access to it.
When you close your Healthcarology account, we delete all records for which you are the sole custodian. If you share custodian access for a record, you can decide whether to delete the record. Healthcarology will wait a limited amount of time before permanently deleting your data in order to help avoid accidental or malicious removal of your health data.
Healthcarology maintains a full history of each access, change or deletion by users and services, which includes the date, action and name of the person or service. Custodians of records can examine the history of those records.
We will use the email address you provide when you create your Healthcarology account to send you an email requesting that you validate your email address, to include sharing invitations you send through Healthcarology, and to send you service notifications, such as email notifications that information is available to add to your Healthcarology records.
Healthcarology periodically sends newsletters to help keep you informed of the latest developments and improvements. Healthcarology will also periodically send you an email summarizing recent account activity. You can unsubscribe from these emails at any time.
Healthcarology offers preview, insider, beta or other pre-release features and services ("previews") to enable you to evaluate them while providing feedback, including performance and usage data, to Healthcarology. As a result, previews can automatically collect additional data, provide fewer controls, and otherwise employ different privacy and security measures than those typically present in our services. If you participate in previews, we may contact you about your feedback or your interest in continuing to use the service after general release.
To provide you the best service, we collect and automatically upload statistics about the performance and your use of the Healthcarology apps and devices.
You can visit the Healthcarology app and the Healthcarology web dashboard to view and manage your data. In the Healthcarology app, you can view and update your profile data, remove any service you do not wish to use, and view past activities. You can delete specific activity details in the Healthcarology app. When you delete a specific activity, the event is deleted from the Healthcarology service; however, the basic sensor data captured by the devices remain in the Healthcarology service. You can cancel your Healthcarology account at any time.